Tags

, , ,

The trek was the first time that the four of us had met other travellers since we began our trip, so it was nice to get to know other like-minded people and enjoy their company. On our final day in Chiang Mai, two of the girls I bonded with during the trek, Charlotte and Lorna, turned up at our hostel while I was sitting in the bar. We ended up spending the whole day chatting and drinking – because we could! The day inevitably extended into the evening, and we finished up at a rooftop reggae bar drinking cocktails while watching the stars.

The thing I love about travelling is that you have all the time in the world, and I feel like I’ve been able to totally let go from the reality of life at home. Ironically, I’m writing this post on a hammock in another reggae bar!

I woke the next morning with quite a bad ‘changover’, as we call it (Chang is the Thai beer everyone drinks) and had to halfheartedly pack my rucksack ready for the next part of our trip to Pai, a small village up in the mountains. The minibus journey was hairy to say the least! But at the same time, the views during the ride were absolutely beautiful. It was also the first time in about five days that I’d had the chance to plug in my iPod. I love how music can transport you to another time or place and help you to overcome the hard times when you start to miss your family and friends.

So far, Pai seems really cool and very laidback, and our wooden bungalow has its own hammock on the veranda. I’m sure I’ll be spending a lot of my time on it!

